Leave a comment

Cell Phone Ownership In U.S. Approaching 100% In Some Categories

Another interesting report out from the Pew Research Center.  This time, the subject is cell phones.  Was it that long ago that many of us looked at those around us in dismay with their cell phones – who does he/she think they are?  Or, better yet, the earpieces – in my office, it was my paralegal that acquired one of those things before anybody else, so I dubbed her “cyborg” for a period of time.

According to the latest report from Pew, 85% of all U.S. adults now own a cell phone.  What is, perhaps, staggering is that in the 18-29 year old demographic, the figure leaps to 96%.  No wonder the industry is spending so much time and money convincing everyone “there’s an app for that.”

In the field of techy geeky stuff, I have the least interest or admiration for cell phones.  I know, I know – wave of the future and all that.  Maybe so.  But, frankly, I don’t own an earpiece now, and I never will.  They hurt my ears, end of story.  If I am in the car, I shut up and drive.  Arriving safely at my destination, without endangering anyone else in my path, is more important than any phone call.  And, guess what, I don’t need a phone that takes pictures either.  That’s what a camera is for, gosh darn it!

I am writing somewhat tongue-in-cheek, but when it comes to cell phones.  Well, heck, phones in general – I guess I am decidedly old-fashioned.  But, I know that I am in a growing minority, apparently, so for those of you who like to keep tabs on statistics, here’s the breakdown from the Pew report:

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

