AVG Anti-Virus + Windows 7, 64-bit = Disaster!

AVG's Logo
Image via Wikipedia

While on the issue of cybersecurity, I wanted to share with you a little bit of my own computer trauma that occurred recently and which touches on a recommendation I made some time ago about a free anti-virus program called AVG.

Picture this – one day, your brand new Windows 7, 64-bit is working like a charm.  Unbeknownst to you, however, an update to your anti-virus software – in this case, AVG – downloads.  The next time you go to restart your system, it crashes.  In vain, you try various feeble options to restore your computer to its former glory.  Nothing.

If this has happened to you, and you were using AVG’s most up-to-date anti-virus software, then chances are you fell victim – as I did – to a bad update that, essentially, is/was not compatible at all with Windows 7, 64-bit systems.  I previously recommended AVG quite highly.  I continue to stand by it on any other system besides Windows 7, 64-bit encryption.  However, you should be warned – if you have not encountered a problem already – that AVG may be the culprit if your system suddenly crashed on you.

According to information released by AVG, the company has taken steps to correct or pull the update and provide consumers with instructions on how to fix the problem themselves without undergoing costly and time-consuming repairs.  You can read more about the fixes here and here.

When it comes to this sort of thing, even considering how much I liked AVG in the past, I tend to be a “once bitten, twice shy” kind of guy.  For that reason, I have turned to Avast Anti-Virus for my Windows 7, 64-bit system at least until I feel certain that AVG’s nightmare has been resolved.

I would certainly welcome any feedback from AVG on this issue, as it has marred and otherwise excellent product.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 comments

  1. balc99@gmail.com · January 24, 2011

    i had the same experience. Prior to that moment i would have raved about how good AVG is. I was lucky it destroyed my backup computer but not my main computer. And of course I didn’t have a recent backup image of my backup computer although I did have problems restoring old acronis images. In any event I only learned about this by accidentally being in my car and scanning past a computer talk show. Your blog is the first I have seen of it. The fix didn’t work although it looked like it would. It may have been because I was running SP1 beta. How could avg have not tested this?

    Like

  2. Dave Lucas · January 19, 2011

    I started using Avast when Thunderbyte got too big in bytes. I’ve used it for years now and it has never failed me!

    Like

Leave a comment